Close this search box.
May 28, 2024

Faculty Presentation

The Faculty of Mathematics was founded in 1948 as part of the Pedagogical Institute of Timișoara, under the name of Faculty of Mathematics and Physics. In 1952 the Mathematics-Physics section was created, and in 1960 – the Geometry section.

On 16 October 1962 the decision was taken to transform the Pedagogical Institute into the University of Timișoara. A Faculty of Mathematics-Mechanics was created within the University with the following specializations: Geometry, Mathematical Analysis and Mathematics-Physics. An important moment is the establishment of the Department of Computer Science in the Faculty of Mathematics and Mechanics in 1971.

In 1974 the Faculty of Mathematics-Mechanics and the faculties of Physics, Biology and Physical Education were merged into a Faculty of Natural Sciences, which existed until 1990.

Mathematics and Computer Science are priority fields of study that have led to the extraordinary technical development of our civilisation. Our faculty is committed to offering its students:

  • The opportunity to become specialists in both fields;
  • Modern, highly regarded academic programmes at bachelor, master and doctoral level;
  • Access to state-of-the-art equipment and excellent study and research conditions.

The academic community in our faculty is dedicated to strengthening the prestige of UVT and the Romanian university school.

In 1990 the Faculty of Natural Sciences was divided into the Faculty of Mathematics and the Faculty of Physics.

Since 2004 the Faculty of Mathematics has changed its name to Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science.

Over the years, the following specialisations have operated within the faculty:


  • Mathematics – since 1948
  • Computer science – since 1971
  • Mathematics-Physics – between 1981 and 2004
  • Evening computer science – between 1984 and 1992
  • Applied mathematics – since 1992
  • Pure Mathematics – between 1995 and 2001
  • College of Computer Science (3 years) – from 1995 to 2004
  • Office automation (3 years) – 1997-2002
  • Mathematics-Computer Science – since 1998
  • Computer Science taught in English – since 2004
  • Applied Informatics – from 2007 to 2024.
  • Artificial Intelligence in English – from 2023 onwards
  • Computer science distance learning – from 2023 onwards


  • Artificial Intelligence and Distributed Computing
  • Big Data – Data Science, Analytics and Technologies
  • Bioinformatics
  • Software Engineering
  • Analytical and geometrical modelling of systems – since 2008
  • Financial mathematics – from 2012
  • Cyber security – by 2024
  • Cybersecurity – from 2023 onwards
  • Intelligent software robotics – from 2023.

Since October 2005, according to the Bologna Convention, higher education has been organised in cycles (3 years cycle I – bachelor; 2 years cycle II – master; 3 years cycle III – doctorate). The ECTS has been in operation since 1997.